images2

 

Ideas shape the course of History.

John M. Keynes

No, I am not talking about a breakup, at least not that one you probably are thinking. It is not a separation from someone but is a separation nevertheless. An emotional, mind and heart one.

I am talking about the ideas we have in our heads and let slip away, for a lot of different motives, of course, there are always plenty of them: because we want to do some research on the internet, we want to read books about it, we procrastinate, we invented last minute tasks, we want to find the relevancy of the idea, and the truth is, we lose the connection with our heart, our intuition and the ability to think for ourselves. We refuse to hear what we ourselves want to say.

I don´t know if that has happened to you, to me it has, and if there are some conclusions I can take from this already dying year is that 24 hours is the time all of us have, some of us use it well, some use it badly, and the idea that is not written and developed as soon as possible is, most probably, forever lost. I can´t tell you how many drafts I have my blog and other things I am not very happy about and too ashamed to share.

My Morning Pages, that I write every day, every single day, exactly at the same hour, at exactly the same place, without exception, are the only writing I have made for awhile. After some time when I tried to do them differently things haven´t worked at all. It only works this way. At least for me.

I am writing the Morning Pages and  following these rituals for more than a month. Everything. Up to the same pen. Surprisingly to me it is working very well. and I guess it´s a habit that I created successfully. Now, the day does not begin well if I don´t write them. Well, the thing with a new habit is…we have to find a way to keep it, otherwise we go back to the start :). The resistance we feel in the beginning dissipates overtime and it gets easier, but if we are a little bit distracted, we loose want we gained and have to start all over again.

I  hope to do the same with the ideas that come to my mind. Probably I will apply a different ritual from the one I do with Morning Pages or maybe not, after all, writing three pages on an idea won´t be that bad.

What I think is important is connect to our hearts, our intuition and what it says to us after all that is all that matters! Looking around for what others have done on the same things and ideas will increase our insecurity and will be a distraction of our own voice. That is the one we are looking forward to hearing and not let it slip away, who knows where they could take us?

 

Annie Blue

 

What´s your opinion?

