15457174639_3778dfb7ac_h

Inside of us there is the need and the desire to be heard, to have our innermost thoughts, feelings and desires expressed for others to hear, to see and to understand. We all want to matter to someone, to leave a mark. Writers just take those thoughts, feelings and desires and express them in such a way that the reader not only reads them but feels them as well.

Vicktor Alexander

I really like this quote by the american author Vicktor Alexander. I don´t know if I will ever read one of his books, not really my style 🙂 I like it because it reminds me how well, and how precisely writing can express our inner world, feelings and ideas. I have read books that were true museum paintings. Images I could develop in my mind, up to the most infinite detail. The author, with mastery and precision, lovingly, word by word described a place, a feeling, a thought, an idea.

I have always wrote in my life, since I am able to write, and having being brought up as a only, and lonely child, I suffered quite a bit with this isolation 🙂 In spite of this, I had paper and pen, and they were my friends and allies, and I wrote down every tiny bit of my soul and my ideas. Writing (and reading) soon became my obsessions so appealing and addictive they were to me, comme une seconde peau….

Better still my high school mates loved my writing! I had an audience since very a very young age! It was a pity, though for me to having succumbed to the wear and tear of every day life, putting my literary success on hold, I don´t know still for how long…

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

The quote on our first assignment, from author Khaled Hosseini immediately unlocked my mind for this task 🙂 I don´t agree with the author 🙂 We have computers now, we can edit, rephrase, until the final manuscript expresses profoundly the ideas and feelings we want to express. However, I agree that sometimes our texts gain a life of their own and go to places we would not even imagine at first. 🙂

Maybe my ultimate goal with my writing is to achieve texts that are both precise and detailed  in the message I want to convey, and profound and intuitive in the way I express it. I accept that maybe this author has a different experience with his writing, a different way of seeing things. Even when we don´t agree with someone ´s point of view, we must respect our differences. It is their perspective, their point of view. Life is vibrant and full of variety, and we should honor every colour in the rainbow.

 

Annie Blue

 

What´s your opinion?

