santa

When I first started this blog, I had a hunch that I had found a good thing, and a way of expressing my inner life, tastes and opinions about the blogging world I was just discovering :). I found a new and rewarding long-term project! I could “talk” with people, and they could like or not like what I said and how I said it.

Of course, I had the long-term project of monetizing the blog. And also the long -term determination of not compromising quality, over cash. I am thinking of those ads I see in a lot of blogs, that have little or nothing to do with their content. I have been observing the ads, I have been “studying” them, where they are placed (and some are quite annoying to the reader), their content (sometimes ridiculous). How on earth would somebody want them I don´t know…I know I am being vague, and I am vague with the intent of not pointing examples, that wouldn´t be fair. Ultimately I understand the motivation for somebody to want ads in their blog 🙂

Money_Cash

 

With the last paragraph I am not saying I am better than the others, I am just saying I have the joy of having a full-time job that allows me to pay my expenses and be picky about what I put in my platforms :), but don´t you wish to be on my shoes just yet, because this means I have two jobs, and need to find energy and strength, to do both :), and I swear that at the end of the year I don´t have neither the energy nor the strength. Today I envy the bears that can hibernate, and I just wish some of that sleep…

 

transferir

I would like to share that it wasn´t supposed for us to be here on my blog. I planned to buy my domain and hosting, as a Christmas gift to myself :), and add more functionalities to the paid blog.

I can´t tell you what a chore it has been! I didn´t do a lot of research about the provider, only tried to choose one with a good reputation on the market, so after that, I bought the domain and hosting! I thougth it would be easy to migrate this blog to the new one! Lo and behold it was a task everything but achievable!

Quite impossible even,  I couldn´t migrate the blog! I lost some posts, my stats, my followers, Worpress Reader. I lost quite a bit of good things I had here! I practised with the themes, customization and plug-ins…so…I learned something :), and that is how I spent my Christmas day 🙂

sonata_dusk_from_mlp__equestria_girls_by_lisan1997-d7yk4zt

This blog is hosted in the free wordpress, and the provider only migrated platforms that were built on wordpress.org! So, the only solution was starting from scratch! And I didn´t want to do that…so we undo the purchase.

From what I am learning, blogging is not an exact science as I would like to make it, and I have seen people defend that even before you devote yourself to blogging you should, from the beginning, have a purchased domain and hosting. Blessed those who can do that from the start, it means they have some cash to spend, but I have rent and food to pay, and unfortunately no money to invest up front!

Then, I have seen also people that defend you should try, experiment, and learn in a free blog, and then see how things go… I agree with this point of view, even if that means we have to start from scratch when we migrate to paid services :)!

We should experiment with a free blog first, and be really free in that experience, including not even thinking about in the beginning. We have plenty of time to establish a business if we want to. And there will be plenty of opportunities to invest some money too. 🙂

First, WE HAVE TO CREATE, do you see what I mean? getting out of the box, not inside the box of our paycheck…

From that point on I have looked to hosting providers differently, and now I am researching more carefully to see if what they have to offer meets my needs more fully! The About.com site has been a real help, and they are quite clear on their explanations!

So for now, we will stay right here, at abeginnersbloggerdiary.wordpress.com!

Happy New Year to All!

happy new year

Annie Blue

What´s your opinion?

