2

It happens to everybody more often than not. In my case, more than I would like to admit. The nitty-gritty of everyday life, demands that we have to answer almost before the demands are verbalized…and the inspiration goes down the drain for days on end! 🙂

How can we ever be inspired, buried in this fast and faster daily life? Now with the holidays coming…I wonder how…I wonder how much longer am I going to look to a blank screen without nothing illuminated coming out of my mind…

This lack of inspiration affects everyone who writes, in blogs or paper, and we certainly would go very well without it, thank you!

It seems to me that good sense has a high level of successful results in a lot of things, and the field of writing seems to be no exception.

I stumbled upon this technique, called freewriting, quite by change, in one of those rare days were I must have been particularly inspired, and my researches, prolific. The thing is, I think I found a very good technique, one that I can apply every time I feel blocked and unable to write.

1

For those of you who don´t know exactly what freewriting is, I will explain…

According to Wikipedia freewriting is, and I quote,  a “a prewriting technique in which a person writes continuously for a set period of time without regard to spelling, grammar, or topic. It produces raw, often unusable material, but helps writers overcome blocks or apathy and self-criticism. (…) Some writers use the technique to collect initial thoughts and ideas on a topic, often as a preliminary to formal writing. (…) Unlike brainstorm where ideas are simply listed, in freewriting one writes sentences to form a paragraph about whatever comes to mind.3

To freewrite the first thing to do is stop thinking! 🙂 just grab pen and paper, just grab the laptop and write :). Write full sentences, paragraphs on a topic, preferably, if not, on anything that comes to mind. Go on the nonsense side. Alice in Wonderland kind of nonsense 🙂

Forget grammar and punctuation. Move on, don´t pause, write in flow, do not look back or you will be transformed in salt!  This writing is only for yourself, no one will read it.

If you want you can elaborate a little bit and create a mind map and brainstorm to generate more ideas.

Overall for this to work you will have to persist and insist until you achieve the confidence and ease to write and get rid of the writer´s block, so freewrite freely like an exercice, that you do regularly three or four times a week.

As I love these techniques and learning and writing tools, I will be covering this topic again soon and deepen this useful, free, and liberating technique.

4

Annie Blue

What´s your opinion?

