marguerite

One of my favorite hobbies is searching how many times a word (usually one that I identify with, or particularly like) is mentioned in the Bible, and what the good book says about it. Today, I looked for the word excellence, a top notch word for me, because I filter everything I do through excellency.

Does it always work? I do not know…But the intention matters though. 🙂

To be excellent means that one is trying to be perfect? Hope not! There is always room for improvement!

I have been living with the weight of having to be perfect all of my life, to no avail and what a burden that has been! This weight must be God humbling me, because only Him is perfect. Who do I think I am anyway?!

But the thoughts above are thoughts of the common human mind, me, me, me. I was determined to see beyond the surface of the word, and wanted to know what does God say about excellency. I found 32 bible verses on the word, and there were two which reasoned with me in particular.

“But as you excel in everything – in faith, in speech, in knowledge, and in all eagerness and in the love from us that is in you – make sure you excel in this act of kindness too.”  2 Corinthians 8:7.

“So whether you eat or drink, or whatever you do, do everything for the glory of God.” 1 Corinthians 10:31

To be excellent is to be exemplary in faith and hold spiritual maturity in Christ. Who wants to be lukewarm anyway?? This maturity is shown in the way which we fraternally express love and respect for one another. We should excel in shaping the kind of person we are, and what we do, in the image of God.

To love God is excelling in doing what is best to His glory. Now that is a top notch excellent pursuit!

Annie Blue

What´s your opinion?

